April 16 – Psalm 6; Proverbs 28; Jeremiah 31

Psalm 6

 Lord, do not rebuke me in your anger

or discipline me in your wrath.

2Have mercy on me, Lord, for I am faint;

heal me, Lord, for my bones are in agony.

3My soul is in deep anguish.

How long, Lord, how long?

4Turn, Lord, and deliver me;

save me because of your unfailing love.

5Among the dead no one proclaims your name.

Who praises you from the grave?

6I am worn out from my groaning.

All night long I flood my bed with weeping

and drench my couch with tears.

7My eyes grow weak with sorrow;

they fail because of all my foes.

Proverbs 28:13

Whoever conceals their sins does not prosper,

but the one who confesses and renounces them finds mercy.

Jeremiah 31:16-17

16This is what the Lord says:

“Restrain your voice from weeping

and your eyes from tears,

for your work will be rewarded,”

declares the Lord.

“They will return from the land of the enemy.

17So there is hope for your descendants,”

declares the Lord.

“Your children will return to their own land.

Jeremiah 31:31-33

“The days are coming,” declares the Lord,

“when I will make a new covenant

with the people of Israel

and with the people of Judah.

32It will not be like the covenant

I made with their ancestors

when I took them by the hand

to lead them out of Egypt,

because they broke my covenant,

though I was a husband to them,”

declares the Lord.

33“This is the covenant I will make with the people of Israel

after that time,” declares the Lord.

“I will put my law in their minds

and write it on their hearts.

I will be their God,

and they will be my people.

The Place Of Bitter Tears

The Lord makes the topic of bitter tears a significant emphasis in Scripture. Our passage today from Psalm 6 illustrates how David lamented his anguish before the Lord. Such honesty helped him to understand and overcome his bitter circumstances.

In God’s Word, we see that bitter tears can motivate us to find direction. The book of Esther tells the amazing story of a Jewish man named Mordecai and his cousin, Esther. Their joint heroism rescues God’s chosen people from certain annihilation. In the early chapters of the book, the chief antagonist, Haman, a high-ranking Persian official, convinces the king that all the Jews in his country should be executed. Scripture tells us, “When Mordecai learned all that had been done, he tore his clothes, put on sackcloth and ashes, and went out into the midst of the city and wailed loudly and bitterly” (Esther 4:1).

Is that how a godly man behaves—and in public, no less? Apparently. Mordecai loves the Lord and his people too much to ignore the pain and heartache of this wicked abuse. Practicing spiritual candor, which may include shedding bitter tears, provides clarity and direction for what we should say and do next, even when the storm is raging.

Second, bitter tears can motivate us to admit wrong and prepare to move forward. Scripture tells us, “And Peter remembered the word which Jesus had said, ‘Before a rooster crows, you will deny Me three times.’ And he went out and wept bitterly” (Matthew 26:75).

This was the beginning of a turning point in Peter’s life and subsequent ministry. Peter’s bitter tears of remorse helped him face his weakness and sin in a way that prepared him for repentance, confession, and forgiveness.

Lastly, bitter tears can motivate us to remember that only our future will be fully satisfying (Jeremiah 31:16–17, 31-33). This passage helps us understand the value and purpose of bitter tears. Scripture motivates us to acknowledge the brokenness of our sin-cursed world and cause us to place our hope in the future the Lord has prepared for us.

The ultimate hope as we shed bitter tears is the salvation that comes through Christ’s death and resurrection, knowing “He will wipe away every tear from their eyes; and there will no longer be any death; there will no longer be any mourning, or crying, or pain; the first things have passed away” (Revelation 21:4).

How can failing to shed bitter tears result in sinful bitterness of heart and life? 

We would like to thank Baker Publishing for providing this plan.

Leave a comment